Lausanne Middle School Band Hits All The Right Notes At Competition
Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.


Lausanne Middle School Band Hits All The Right Notes At Competition

The Lausanne Collegiate School Middle School Band took a trip to Atlanta over the weekend for competition and came back with top place awards and a trophy.

The band participated in the Worldstrides Heritage Adjudication Festival in Atlanta, GA on Saturday, March 23.

The ensemble returned with three top placed awards. The received a silver award for their score rank as well as scoring first place within the middle school division. They also won the First Place Outstanding Award within all the Middle and high schools. 

At this music festival, ensemble students and directors are critiqued and judged by a panel of professional conductors and musicians, respectively. The panel scores are based on tone quality, intonation, technical accuracy, balance and interpretation.

"In many ways, they are evaluated in a similar format of our Middle Years Programme (MYP) rubric assessment," Upper School and Middle School Instrumental Music Director DoraThea Kastanas said.   

Additionally, students received a masterclass-clinic workshop by one of the lead judges. This gave the students feedback from the professional music community and the ability to demonstrate their current musicianship and skills as well as connect with other student and professional musicians.

Beyond the music, students also received personal guided tours of the Great Locomotive Chase Southern Museum, the Stone Mountain Historical Park, the Georgia Aquarium and Medieval Times.

"We are so proud of the efforts of our students this year for their skills have improved immensely," Kastanas said.

Congrats, Lynx! #BeGreat

The following students participated in the festival:

  • Elias Budke '23
  • Will Carter '24
  • Whit Faughnan '23 
  • Brendan French '23
  • Philip Gillespie '23
  • Kosten Goldberg '23
  • Alexander Gonzalez '23
  • Lincoln Hayes '23
  • Lucas Hori '24
  • Dylan Jones '23
  • Nassir Jones '23
  • James Knowlton '23
  • Connor Magdovitz '24
  • Ben Paul '23
  • Anooj Talati '23
  • Max Weiss '23