Upper School Band And Choir Students Hit All The Right Notes At Music Competition
Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.


Upper School Band And Choir Students Hit All The Right Notes At Music Competition

Over the weekend, Lausanne's Upper School Band and Choir students had the opportunity to showcase their musical talents during a quick trip to the Crescent City to compete in the 2022 New Orleans Heritage Festival by Worldstrides. 

The Lynx performers walked away from the competition with three top-placed awards, which included Upper School Choir earning Gold, Upper School Band winning Silver and Wyatt Burnham '22 receiving an excellence in vocal performance distinction.

Additionally, the US choir has been selected to perform under master conductors at the High School Honors Performance Series at Carnegie Hall in New York City later this year. 

"Being the smallest choir in attendance was certainly intimidating," Wyatt shared. "But the sense of camaraderie among us, instilled by the student life at Lausanne and the festival-wide appreciation for music helped with the nerves."

At the music festival, students and directors were critiqued and judged by a panel of three nationally acclaimed adjudicators and awarded at a masquerade ball-themed awards ceremony. Students also received a mini onstage clinic that gave the students feedback from the professional music community and the ability to demonstrate their current musicianship and skills while also connecting with other students and professional musicians.

The following students participated in the festival:

  • Malaika Kumar ’23
  • Jasmine Younes ’23
  • Skylar Harts ’22
  • Wyatt Burnham ’22
  • Emma Kerr ’25
  • Edens Richardson ’24
  • Tanner McDermott ’22
  • Alex Wittke ’22
  • Joe Thompson ’22
  • Dylan Jones ’23
  • James Knowlton ’23
  • Lincoln Hayes ’23
  • Roju Miller ’25
  • Whit Faughnan ’23
  • Nicholas Holland ’25
  • Jarius Jones ’23
  • Tanish Sonone ’25
  • Ethan Johnson ’25
  • Connor Magdovitz ’24
  • Will Carter ’24
  • Ben Paul ’23
  • Andrew Vo ’25
  • Aidan Johnson ’25
  • Kabir Syali ’25
  • Amalia Pompe von Meerdervort ’24

Congratulations, Lynx! 

Posted by Shayne Dotson at 10:47